Matt? No, MATTE! How to make your makeup matte.

matt

Before i start this blog i just want to say that i am no makeup expert, and quite frankly i envy those wonderful people with the amazing makeup skills. This blog is just my way of sharing with you how i get my face looking smooth, or should i say matte.

I don’t know about you but i just can’t pull off the dewy foundation look a lot of people go for, so i stick to my tried and tested matte look. My skin also breaks out at least twice a month for no reason and it is a complete nightmare, but the other days of the month my skin is peacefully pale. Luckily i’m enjoying the waves of the latter right now!

SAM_2438

Now above you will see a terrifying picture of me looking really serious, i’m also wearing no makeup. So this is a kind of before photo if you will, so try to look past my mugshot. (click the photo to make it bigger if you want to scare yourself)

The how to guide:

Step 1) First make sure you have a completely blank canvas to work with so cleanse, tone, and moisturise that face!
Step 2) Apply your primer all over, i used Maybelline’s Baby Skin because having used other primers in the past i consider this one to be the best for my skin, and it’s also extremely affordable!
Step 3) Start by applying No7 Beautifully Matte Foundation with a foundation brush in a downward motion.
Step 4) You could use concealer when it gets to this part but i choose to use No7 Stay Perfect Compact Foundation instead. I apply the compact foundation to any parts of my face i feel need that smidgen of extra coverage, i.e; my nose, under my eyes and my chin.
Step 5) Now blot any excess foundation off of your face using Kleenex Shine Absorbing Sheets. (These retail at £3.99, but i get mine from Home Bargains for 30p)
Step 6) This is where i use Benefit High Beem for that instant eye lift! Draw an arch above your brow with your highlighter, then blend using your finger or a brush.
Step 7) Apply your loose powder with a powder brush by using a dabbing motion, never use long sweeps that drag your skin, i find that it makes the foundation and powder mix and makes your face look cakey. 
Step 8) Get blushing and apply your Hervana blush to the apples of your cheeks. i find the easiest way to apply blusher is to suck in your cheeks, and apply it just above where your cheeks go in.
Step 9) Hoola time! I apply the tiniest amount under my blush to contour my face in slightly and make it look like i have some amazing cheek bones. (unfortunately i attempted to smile in the after photo so this step isn’t very visible)
Step 10) Then i put my eyebrows, mascara and lipstick on to complete my face and i’m done!

The after shot VOI LAAAAA! Thought i’d throw in a smile, instead of my usual resting bitch face. (click the photo to make it bigger if you wish)

SAM_2483

I am going to apologise now for the bad photos i’m not a seasoned selfie taker, and also my camera isn’t the best for things like this. But they seem to have just about done the job this time so waheeeyyy!

SAM_2508

I didn’t heavily apply the Black Cherry lipstick by Revlon, i just applied enough to get a hint of the colour. But be warned this colour goes on really dark if you do choose to apply it that way.

Products I Used:

SAM_2522

No7 Beautifully Matte Foundation, No7 Stay Perfect Compact Foundation, No7 Loose Powder, Benefit Hervana Blusher, Maybelline Babyskin, Benefit High Beam, Revlon Lipstick in Black Cherry 477, Maybelline Super Stay 10 Hour Tint Gloss in Endless Ruby 540, MUA Lip Liner in Brooding Plum, Maxfactor False Lash Effect in Black, Benefit Hoola, Vaseline Rosy Lips, and Kleenex Shine Absorbing Sheets.

Any question feel free to drop me a comment, or follow me on my Twitter account @paisleymaysays

sig

12 thoughts on “Matt? No, MATTE! How to make your makeup matte.

      1. If you want to try darker colours, try MUA or Makeup Revolution at first because the lipsticks are only £1, and they’re actually quite good. Saves you spending loads of money to begin with 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

