Damn girl you fine!

pizza-love-4

Raise your hand if you’ve ever felt personally victimised by Regina George? What? I mean society. Hi my names April, and like most other decent human beings in 2014 I don’t think women should feel personally victimised for being a particular size or looking a certain way. Have you ever felt inferior because of how you look? Congratulations, body shaming has affected you. Body shaming is a normal part of every day life now, “why is she wearing that top she’s too fat” “she’s so skinny she looks like a skeleton” just two examples of the kinds of ridicule women face for being themselves.

If my body mass index is anything to go by technically people probably think I should have fruit thrown at me in the street like Quasimodo, or that I should just wear a black bin bag. It’s took me a while to realise that I shouldn’t have to hide my body because I don’t look like Cara Delevingne and I probably never will, because she was possibly sculpted by angels. I mean i eat salad with the same expression I have when I hear an old person explaining how to use technology the wrong way. This face kind of looks a mix between sorrow, anger and regret. I’m never going to be that girl who doesn’t eat pizza because of the calories, my struggles with becoming healthy are that everything that’s good for you is never going to taste like Dominos pizza and I just don’t know if I’m ready to commit to a life without my cheese topped best friend.

791850253772450852rbk-empowering-illustrations-carol-rossetti-whitney-de10415637_607627249356822_7319651340761856396_n
Carol Rossetti

Don’t get me wrong I do exercise and have made significant efforts to live more healthily for my own benefit, but my version of exercise is strutting on a treadmill singing along to early 2000’s R&B so if that counts as exercise i’m basically an exercise pro.The thing is with exercise is that you actually have to move. It always seems like a really good idea in your head but in reality it completely sucks. A bit like when you make a grand plan when you’re drunk and then it actually happens and you regret life instantly. You love it, hate it or endure it and I endure it.

Whether you are fat, thin, muscular, pudgy, apple, pear i don’t care every one has the ability to be beautiful in their own skin, and there’s nothing more radiant than confidence with yourself and how you look. If you want to lose a few pounds then you lose those pounds, if you want to strut around wearing a dress and heels then you wear that dress and heels! Any person that cruelly taunts another for the way that they look is an awful human being with an ugly soul, you should never be made to feel bad for the way you look. Fashion is beautiful on any size and shape, and it’s about time we all got up applauded, hugged each other said hell yes and then got on with our lives in a world where body shaming doesn’t exist. Why should I not be fashionable? Where is the rule stating that because I’m carrying a few (understatement) extra pounds I shouldn’t wear that dress? Oh nowhere? Exactly! So I suggest if you’re offended by the way I may jiggle when I walk, look away or leave.

d54598af51b35f2b18907bc6adf48f62c20f2e2d53d29567dee2e78772acd659

People can judge me all they want but for once in my life i actually feel comfortable with myself, i mean I’ve got a few extra pounds to love, but the difference is nobody is going to bring me down for the way i choose to dress or the way i choose to live my life. I’m going on holiday in 10 days and you better believe that i’m cracking out that swimming costume with my wobbly arms and thighs on show; because the only person who will be worrying about how i look will be small minded people not me.

Wouldn’t it be great to look like Kim Kardashian? Yeah perhaps if that’s your thing? She’s a gorgeous woman, but for the average girl out there who constantly is living out of their overdraft it’s probably not a viable option. So stop wishing you looked like someone else, and learn to love being yourself because one day you’re going to look back and you’re going to be so angry you used to stress about that extra bit of pudge you carry about, or your “terrible nose”.

roald-dahl-2

Why are we as people so obsessed with the way people look? I for one really don’t care. The way another person looks in no way affects my life, so why should it affect yours? The only person judging you is usually yourself. You’re your harshest critic, so step away from that downward spiral of self-hate and move along to the spiral of self-love, look at yourself and notice your positives. Is it that lovely smile you have? or your caring nature? This is what makes us as women beautiful, the way each one of us is molded so differently.

I started blogging because I came across a girl called Callie who’s blog is fromthecornersofthecurve.com she looked so effortlessly happy, and had an amazing energy about her blog. Reading her blog made me happy to be me, I felt so positive about my own body for the first time in a long time so thank you. Even though my blogging journey started less than two weeks ago I feel that this has been an extremely positive thing for me to do, and I’m extremely glad I started it.

Ladies don’t let comparison steal your joy, and always remember

spice-girls-then

GIRL POWER!

sig

20 thoughts on “Damn girl you fine!

  1. Loved this! And I love how you’ve addressed the fact that it’s okay to be thin too – sometimes people can overlook that when talking about body image and it’s a real insecurity too! Following your blog now 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words, I didn’t want to leave any size or shape out because unfortunately body shaming affects everyone! But hopefully anyone that reads this will realise it doesn’t matter what any one else thinks, and becomes more comfortable with themselves….hopefully.
      I’ve followed you back 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Omg I love this post, this just sums up how I think especially about pizza ha! Really great, let’s just be positive towards each other!! X

    Like

  3. I am so so sorry that I have only just seen this, you must think I am so rude, this is honestly the sweetest thing ever. Thank you so much for your sweet comments really loved this post so much and it’s so great to see girls being so supportive! love the blog! All the best ❤ xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

